Saudi giants Al Hilal clinch record-equalling Asian title

142 Likes comments off

Salem Al-Dosari and Baftimbi Gomez were the champions, with Al Hilal defeating Urawa Red Diamonds 2-0 on Sunday and 3-0 on aggregate to win the third consecutive AFC Champions League title.
Al-Dosari scored 16 minutes from time, and Gomez scored in 11th place in stoppage time as the Saudi giants ended their 19-year wait for their third continental cup, joining South Korea’s Pohang Steelers. .
Al Hilal, beaten by Japan’s Urawa in the 2017 final, became the first West Asian winners since the Qatari Dam in 2011, blowing up a series of victories from clubs from Japan, South Korea, China and Australia.
Al Hilal got the best of the first half as they looked to win 1-0 in the first leg, when Andre Carrillo scored the only goal.
Both goalkeepers were forced to move early, but Takahiro Skini from Urawa had the best chance of the half when he fired a powerful shot from afar by Hilal goalkeeper Hilal Abdullah Al Maayouf.
After the break of the tournament’s top scorer, Gomes, with 10 goals on his way to the final, he received a reaction from Shozaku Nishikawa when he arrived with a threatening cross on the near post.
Gomez Nishikawa found his way back when he fired a cross from Sebastian Giovinco and fired a straight side shot past Urawa.
However, they were ominous signs for the hosts, and in the end Al Hilal won the Urawa defense award with a sweeping move in 74 minutes.
Giovinco gave the final player the final ball for Salim, who gratefully urged to win after a series of passes that captured Urawa’s defenders.
Gomes came within inches of contacting a diving head in the moments of death, but the towering forward was not denied later because he broke in the second for the crescent in the third minute of stoppage time.
Saudi giants have suffered a continental drought since 2000 when they won the card for the second time, the first in 1991 when it was called the Asian Club Championship.
They approached in 2014 and 2017 when they reached the final, only to defeat them West Sydney Wanderers and Urawa respectively.

You might like

About the Author: Editor